Support Number

+91 8510003060

12 Jyotirlinga In India


12 jyotirlingas In India. It is a land of spiritual diversity and mystic wonders, where ancient traditions and beliefs still thrive amidst modernity. One such belief that has stood the test of time is the worship of Lord Shiva. One of the most important in Hinduism. The 12 Jyotirlingas are spread across India. People consider  it to be the holiest shrines d to Lord Shiva, drawing thousands of devotees every year. In this blog post, we will take you on a divine journey through these sacred abodes and unravel their significance in Hindu mythology. Get ready to delve into a world filled with spirituality, history, and breathtaking architecture!  

What are the jyotirlinga?

  The jyotirlinga are a group of twelve highly sacred shrines dedicated to the Hindu god Shiva. These shrines are located throughout India, with six in the south, four in the north, and two in the west.  Devotees consider Each of these shrines to be a manifestation of Shiva, and is thus held in great reverence by Hindus.  

The twelve jyotirlinga are as follows:

There are twelve jyotirlinga temples located throughout India. They are:
  • Somnath in Gujarat
  • Mallikarjuna in Andhra Pradesh
  • Mahakaleshwar in Madhya Pradesh
  • Omkareshwar in Madhya Pradesh
  • Kedarnath in Uttarakhand
  • Bhimashankar in Maharashtra
  • Viswanath in Uttar Pradesh
  • Triambakeshwar in Maharashtra
  • Vaidyanath in Jharkhand
  • Nageshvara in Karnataka
  • Rameshwaram in Tamil Nadu
  • Grishneshwar in Maharashtra

Where are the jyotirlinga located?

The jyotirlinga are a set of twelve Hindu temples of Lord  Shiva. They are in different parts of  India, with four each in Maharashtra and Karnataka, three in Madhya Pradesh, two in Uttarakhand, and one each in Assam, Gujarat, and Andhra Pradesh. The first temple on the list is the Somnath Temple in Gujarat, devotees consider it to be the most sacred of all the jyotirlinga.  

What is the significance of the jyotirlinga?

The jyotirlinga are a set of twelve sacred sites spread across India. Devotees believe them  to be the  holy abodes of Lord Shiva. People consider it to be of great spiritual significance  . Thousands of pilgrims from all over India  visit these shrines every year. The jyotirlinga are said to represent the twelve different forms of Lord Shiva, and each site is said to possess unique powers. Many pilgrims believe that visiting all twelve jyotirlinga will help them achieve moksha, or liberation from the cycle of birth and death. Devotees consider the jyotirlinga  to be powerful places of healing, and many people visit these sites in search of cures for physical and mental ailments. In addition, the jyotirlinga are believed to bestow blessings upon those who visit them with sincerity and devotion. The temple of Kedarnath is one of the most important Hindu pilgrimage sites. It is located in the state of Uttarakhand, in the north of India. The shrine is situated at an altitude of 3,583 metres (11,755 ft), at the source of the Mandakini river, close to the Chorabari Glacier. The temple is dedicated to Lord Shiva and is one of the twelve Jyotirlinga temples. Kedarnath is also one of the four dhams or pilgrimage centres that together form the Chota Char Dham, a pilgrimage circuit in Uttarakhand. The other three dhams are Badrinath, Yamunotri and Gangotri. Kedarnath is also part of Panch Kedar, which includes five shrines dedicated to Lord Shiva in the Garhwal Himalayan region. The main legend associated with Kedarnath temple is that it was built by Pandavas, the heroes of Mahabharata. After their victory in the Kurukshetra war, they sought forgiveness from Lord Shiva for all the sins they had committed during the war. However, Shiva did not forgive them and instead took refuge at Kedarnath in the form of a bull (Nandi). When Pandavas finally found him there, he tried to submerge himself into the ground but only his hump remained visible above ground. This site then came to existence.  

How to visit the jyotirlinga?

To visit the jyotirlinga, one can follow these steps: 1) Select the jyotirlinga temple you wish to visit from the list above 2) Check the opening hours of the temple and plan your visit according to that information. 3) Many of the temples require you to take off your shoes before entering, so be sure to wear footwear that is easy to remove. 4) Once inside, you can offer prayers and donations at the shrine. 5) Some of the temples also offer puja services, which you can participate in. 6) Remember to be respectful and humble while visiting the temple.  


India is a land of spiritual enlightenment and these 12 Jyotirlingas are an integral part of that. Each Jyotirlinga has its own unique significance, and people believe that those who visit all twelve will be blessed with peace, happiness, knowledge, wealth and prosperity. Visiting the 12 jyotirlingas in India can be an incredibly rewarding experience for anyone looking to deepen their spiritual understanding or strengthen their faith. Even if you don’t believe in the religious aspects behind them, simply taking time out to contemplate the beauty around you at each site can bring a sense of inner tranquility. We have some other chardham Yatra Packages Services. Chadham Yatra Package from Haridwar, Chardham Yatra Package from Delhi, Luxury Chardham Yatra Package by Helicopter