Support Number

+91 8510003060

The Shrines of Panch Prayag

Panch Prayag Yatra, or the “five confluences” of India, are important pilgrimage sites for Hindus in northern India. Five rivers meet at their respective holy sites, creating a stunningly beautiful and spiritual experience for those who visit. The shrines at each of these five river crossings represent a unique combination of religious and cultural traditions. From ancient temples to modern-day rituals, here we will explore the shrines of Panch Prayag and how they have shaped religious practice throughout India.

What is Panch Prayag?

Panch Prayag refers to the five confluences of rivers in the Uttarakhand region of India. These rivers are the Alaknanda, Bhagirathi, Mandakini, Sarayu, and Pindar. The Panch Prayag is located at Vishnuprayag, Nandprayag, Karnprayag, Devprayag, and Rudraprayag respectively. The Panch Prayag has great religious significance for Hindus as they are believed to be the abodes of the five main deities of Hinduism - Shiva, Vishnu, Brahma, Ganesha, and Devi. It is believed that a dip in any of these confluences will cleanse one's sins and bestow them with moksha or liberation from the cycle of birth and death.

The Five Shrines of Panch Prayag are:

1.Vishnu Shrine at Devprayag: The shrine of Lord Vishnu is located at Devprayag, the confluence of the rivers Alaknanda and Bhagirathi.

2.Shiva Shrine at Karnaprayag: The shrine of Lord Shiva is located at Karnaprayag, the confluence of the rivers Alaknanda and Mandakini.

3.Ganesh Shrine at Nandprayag: The shrine of Lord Ganesh is located at Nandprayag, the confluence of the rivers Alaknanda and Nandakini.

4.Parvati Shrine at Rudraprayag: The shrine of Goddess Parvati is located at Rudraprayag, the confluence of the rivers Mandakini and Alaknanda.

5.Surya Shrine at Sonprayag: The shrine of Lord Surya is located at Sonprayag, the confluence of the rivers Mandakini and Bhagirathi.

Devotees visits all these prayag during their Chardham Yatra Tour Package.

The Significance of Panch Prayag

The five confluences of rivers in the Garhwal Himalayan region are collectively known as Panch Prayag. These five confluences are where the Rivers Alaknanda and Bhagirathi meet to form the River Ganges. The five confluences are Vishnuprayag, Nandprayag, Karnaprayag, Devprayag and Rudraprayag. Of these five confluences, Rudraprayag is the most significant as it is here that the River Mandakini meets the River Alaknanda to form the River Ganges.

Panch Prayag has been a holy site for Hindus since time immemorial. It is believed that bathing in these river confluences will wash away all your sins and lead you to salvation. Millions of pilgrims visit Panch Prayag every year to take a dip in these sacred waters.

The Five Elements Theory is also associated with Panch Prayag. According to this theory, each of these five confluences represent one of the five elements – earth, water, fire, air and space. It is believed that by taking a dip in all these five confluences, one can achieve balance in their life and attain enlightenment. Panch Prayag is also considered to be an auspicious site for performing various religious rituals like marriage, naming ceremony etc.

How to get to Panch Prayag

Panch Prayag is a holy site for Hindus located in the state of Uttarakhand in northern India. It is at the confluence of five rivers - the Alaknanda, Bhagirathi, Mandakini, Dhauliganga and Pindar - which are most holy by Hindus.

There are two ways to reach Panch Prayag. The first is by road, and the second is by air. Devotees can visit all these places by Chardham Yatra Package by Helicopter.

If you are traveling by road, the best route to take is from  Chardham yatra package from Delhi. From Delhi, take the NH-58 towards Meerut. After Meerut, take the NH-24 towards Hapur. From Hapur, take the diversion onto NH-74 towards Rudrapur. After Rudrapur, take the left turn onto SH-37 towards Karnprayag. Karnprayag is the last town before Panch Prayag, and it is has direct well connectivity by roads. If you are travelling by air, the best airport to fly into is Jolly Grant Airport in Dehradun. From there, you can either take a taxi or a bus to Panch Prayag.

What to expect at the Panch Prayag shrines

Panch Prayag is a group of five Hindu temples, each located at the confluence of two rivers. The Panch Prayag shrines are some of the most holy sites in Hinduism.

The Panch Prayag shrines are:

1.Vishnuprayag: Located at the confluence of the Alaknanda and Dhauliganga rivers. 2.Nandprayag: Located at the confluence of the Alaknanda and Nandi rivers. 3.Karnaprayag: Located at the confluence of the Pindar and Alaknanda rivers. 4.Devprayag: Located at the confluence of the Mandakini and Bhagirathi rivers. 5.Rudraprayag: Located at the confluence of the Mandakini and Alaknanda rivers.


The Shrines of Panch Prayag are a great way to explore the spiritual side of India. Come and learn more about its culture. They provide an opportunity for tourists. Pilgrims, and locals alike to experience the beauty and serenity that these ancient shrines have to offer. From their historical significance to the amazing landscapes surrounding them. They truly make for an unforgettable journey that will leave you with lasting memories. So if you're looking for an incredible spiritual adventure in India. Visiting the five holy sites of Panch Prayag is definitely something worth adding to your bucket list!

Epic Yatra your Tour guide also organises these tour packages Char dham Yatra Amarnath Yatra Manimahesh Yatra Nepal Tour Packages 

We have some other chardham Yatra Packages Services.

Chadham Yatra Package from Haridwar,

Chardham Yatra Package from Delhi,

Luxury Chardham Yatra Package by Helicopter